Video – Two Types of Akitas

Share |

This video showcases the difference between the tradition Japanese Akita and the heavier boned American Akita. The American Kennel Club and the Canadian Kennel Club are the last of the world’s kennel clubs to recognize that there are in fact two different breeds of Akita. The Fédération Cynologique Internationale and most other kennel clubs have officially separated Akitas into two breeds – the American Akita (originally known to the FCI as the Great Japanese Dog) and the Akita (unofficially called the Japanese Akita).

Read more about Japanese dog breeds

Previous post:

Next post: